Rockland County, New York Genealogy Guide2016-06-15T18:24:57+00:00

Rockland County, New York Records

Rockland County, New York (Map It) was created on February 23, 1798 from Orange County. The county was named for early settlers' description of terrain as "rocky land" .

Rockland County is bordered by Orange County (northwest/north), Putnam County (northeast), Westchester County (east), Bergen County, New Jersey (south), Passaic County, New Jersey (west).

Rockland County Cities and Towns include Clarkstown, Haverstraw, Orangetown, Ramapo, Stony Point. Villages include Airmont, Chestnut Ridge, Grand View-on-Hudson, Haverstraw, Hillburn, Kaser, Montebello, New Hempstead, New Square, Nyack, Piermont, Pomona, Sloatsburg, South Nyack, Spring Valley, Suffern, Upper Nyack, Wesley Hills, West Haverstraw. Communities include Bardonia, Blauvelt, Central Nyack, Congers, Garnerville, Grassy Point, Hillcrest, Jones Point, Ladentown, Monsey, Mount Ivy, Nanuet, New City, Orangeburg, Palisades, Pearl River, Sparkill, Stony Point, Tappan, Thiells, Tomkins Cove, Valley Cottage, Viola, West Nyack.

Rockland County, New York Courthouse Records

Rockland County, New York Courthouse
Rockland County, NY Courthouse

The Rockland County Courthouse is located in New City, New York. Also contact local Town Clerks. They are responsible for vast amounts of local information from deeds, property transfers, and genealogical materials. Research on place and road names, the history of property transfers and much more are available through your Town Clerk. They are a tremendous resources. Learn More About State of New York Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Rockland county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Rockland County Clerk has Land Records from 1798, Court Records from 1798 and Naturalization Records. State court naturalization records remain in custody of the county clerks. Older court naturalization records have been transferred to the National Archives--Northeast Region. The County Clerk is the keeper of most civil and criminal trial court records for Supreme Court and County Court, naturalizations, marriages (1908–35), censuses (Some county clerks' offices hold duplicate copies of some of the State censuses taken periodically between 1825 and 1925 and copies of the federal census), as well as deeds and mortgages.
  • Rockland County Surrogate Court Clerk has Probate Records from 1798. The County Surrogate Court Clerk maintain records of wills, letters testamentary, letters of administration, orders and decrees, and appointments of guardians; and filed papers, including original wills, petitions for probate (gives date of death and lists next of kin), performance bonds, property inventories (seldom found after ca. 1900), administrator's or executor's accountings, etc. Surrogate's Courts create comprehensive indexes to records and files.
  • Rockland County Treasurer is responsible for the collection of taxes.
  • Rockland County Historian maintains archival holdings for virtually every facet of the county’s history. In New York State, every municipality (town, city, village, county) must have an appointed historian. Most of the towns have their own historians as well and each can be contacted. The County Historian may provide access to obituaries, vital records, church records, maps, and family files or journals. Some historians provide search services for their office records and others may refer you to local genealogists who research in the area.

Rockland County, New York Census Records

Rockland County, New York Vital Records

Rockland County, New York Resources

Rockland County, New York External Links