Taos County, New Mexico Genealogy Guide2016-06-15T18:56:00+00:00

Taos County, New Mexico Genealogy Guide

Taos County, New Mexico (Map It) was created on January 6, 1852 as one of the nine original counties. The county was named for its county seat of Taos, New Mexico, which in turn was named for the nearby Taos Pueblo, an ancient Native American village. Taos isred willow in the Tiwa language. Learn More About State of New Mexico History

Taos County is bordered by Rio Arriba County (west), Mora County (east), Colfax County (east), Costilla County, Colorado (north), Conejos County, Colorado.

Taos County Cities and Towns include Red River, Taos, Questa, Taos Ski Valley.

Taos County, New Mexico Courthouse Records

Taos County, New Mexico Courthouse
Taos County, NM Courthouse

The Taos County Courthouse is located in Taos, New Mexico. Learn More About State of New Mexico Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Taos county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Taos County Clerks office has Marriage Records from 1905; Marriage Register A-1 (1863—1905) available at the New Mexico State Records Center and Archives., Land Records from 1880s and Probate Records from 1912. The County Clerks office has land records, including deeds, mining records, surveys, and plats; marriage records; and some probate records. Also Military discharges, liens, mortgages, powers of attorney, and miscellaneous affidavits may be found there.
  • Taos County 8th District Court Clerk has many responsibilities which include courts of general jurisdiction, including probate and divorce, actions, as well as jury trials.

Taos County, New Mexico Census Records

Taos County, New Mexico Vital Records

Taos County, New Mexico Resources

Taos County, New Mexico External Links

Search Millions of Military Records