Yalobusha County, Mississippi Genealogy Guide2016-06-22T17:32:00+00:00

Yalobusha County, Mississippi Genealogy Guide

Yalobusha County, Mississippi (Map It) was created on December 23, 1833 from Monroe County, Washington County and Yazoo County. The county was named for the Native American for "tadpole place" . Learn More About State of Mississippi History

Yalobusha County is bordered by Lafayette County (northeast), Calhoun County (east), Grenada County (south), Tallahatchie County (west) and Panola County (northwest).

Yalobusha County Cities and Towns include Water Valley, Coffeeville, Oakland, Tillatoba.

A Map of Yalobusha County, Mississippi contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Yalobusha County, Mississippi Courthouse Records

Yalobusha County Courthouse in Coffeeville
Yalobusha County Courthouse in Coffeeville
Yalobusha County Courthouse in Water Valley
Yalobusha County Courthouse in Water Valley

The Yalobusha County Courthouse is located in Water Valley, Mississippi and Coffeeville, Mississippi. Learn More About State of Mississippi Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Yalobusha county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Yalobusha County Chancery Court Clerk has Land Records from 1834, Probate Records from 1834 and Divorce Records from see Clerk. The County Chancery Court Clerk record all documents (warranty deeds, deed of trusts, military discharges, etc) to be in Public Land Records and create and maintain indexes for the documents filed in the land records, such as sectional indexes, direct/reverse indexes, etc. Maintain the Court dockets and file all records of the Court. Record and preserve court minute books. Submit divorce and other statistics to the Mississippi Department of Vital Records.
  • Yalobusha County Clerk of Circuit Court has Marriage Records from 1847 and Court Records from 1834. The County Clerk of Circuit Court include Receiving and fileing all law suits, indictments, motions and other related papers in all Civil and Criminal Cases filed in the Circuit or County Courts. Keeps a record of all Judgments and Executions, Issues marriage licenses and keeps records of marriages.
  • Yalobusha County Tax Assessor / Collector maintain original tax records, both real and personal.
  • Yalobusha County Health Department has birth and death records from November 1, 1912. You may go to any county health department in the State of Mississippi to obtain a certificates can be issued while you wait.

Yalobusha County, Mississippi Census Records

Yalobusha County, Mississippi Vital Records

Yalobusha County, Mississippi Resources

Yalobusha County, Mississippi External Links

Search Millions of Military Records