Desoto County, Mississippi Genealogy Guide2016-06-22T17:08:28+00:00

DeSoto County, Mississippi Genealogy Guide

DeSoto County, Mississippi (Map It) was created on February 9, 1836 from Monroe County and Washington County. The county was named in honor of Hernando de Soto, Spanish explorer of the Americas. Learn More About State of Mississippi History

DeSoto County is bordered by Shelby County, Tennessee (north), Crittenden County, Arkansas (west), Tunica County (southwest), Tate County (south) and Marshall County (east).

DeSoto County Cities and Towns include Hernando, Horn Lake, Olive Branch, Southaven, Walls, Memphis.

A Map of DeSoto County, Mississippi contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

DeSoto County, Mississippi Courthouse Records

DeSoto County, Mississippi Courthouse
DeSoto County, MS Courthouse

The DeSoto County Courthouse is located in Hernando, Mississippi. Record loss, courthouse burned in 1940. Learn More About State of Mississippi Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in DeSoto county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • DeSoto County Chancery Court Clerk has Land Records from 1836, Probate Records from 1836 and Divorce Records from see Clerk. The County Chancery Court Clerk record all documents (warranty deeds, deed of trusts, military discharges, etc) to be in Public Land Records and create and maintain indexes for the documents filed in the land records, such as sectional indexes, direct/reverse indexes, etc. Maintain the Court dockets and file all records of the Court. Record and preserve court minute books. Submit divorce and other statistics to the Mississippi Department of Vital Records.
  • DeSoto County Clerk of Circuit Court has Marriage Records from 1845 and Court Records from 1854. The County Clerk of Circuit Court include Receiving and fileing all law suits, indictments, motions and other related papers in all Civil and Criminal Cases filed in the Circuit or County Courts. Keeps a record of all Judgments and Executions, Issues marriage licenses and keeps records of marriages.
  • DeSoto County Tax Assessor / Collector maintain original tax records, both real and personal.
  • DeSoto County Health Department has birth and death records from November 1, 1912. You may go to any county health department in the State of Mississippi to obtain a certificates can be issued while you wait.

DeSoto County, Mississippi Census Records

DeSoto County, Mississippi Vital Records

DeSoto County, Mississippi Resources

DeSoto County, Mississippi External Links

Search Millions of Military Records