Hancock County, Kentucky Genealogy Guide2016-06-27T17:47:01+00:00

Hancock County, Kentucky Genealogy Guide

Hancock County, Kentucky (Map It) was created on January 3, 1829 from Daviess County, Ohio County and Breckinridge County. The county was named in honor of John Hancock (1737–1793), signer of the Declaration of Independence . Learn More About State of Kentucky History

Hancock County is bordered by Spencer County, Indiana (northwest), Perry County, Indiana (northeast), Breckinridge County (southeast), Ohio County (south), Daviess County (west).

Hancock County Cities and Towns include Hawesville, Lewisport.

A Map of Hancock County, Kentucky contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Hancock County, Kentucky Courthouse Records

Hancock County, Kentucky Courthouse
Hancock County, KY Courthouse

The Hancock County Courthouse is located in Hawesville, Kentucky. Learn More About State of Kentucky Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Hancock county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

Hancock County, Kentucky Census Records

Hancock County, Kentucky Vital Records

Hancock County, Kentucky Resources

Hancock County, Kentucky External Links

Search Millions of Military Records