Pike County, Indiana Genealogy Guide2016-06-30T21:53:08+00:00

Pike County, Indiana Genealogy Guide

Pike County, Indiana (Map It) was created on February 1, 1817 from Gibson County and Perry County. This county was named for Zebulon M. Pike, explorer of the American West. Learn More About State of Indiana History

Pike County is bordered by  Daviess County (northeast), Dubois County (east), Warrick County (south), Gibson County (west), Knox County (northwest).

Pike County Cities and Towns include  Petersburg, Spurgeon, Winslow.

Pike County Townships include  Clay, Jefferson, Lockhart, Logan, Madison, Marion, Monroe, Patoka, Washington. See Map of Pike County Townships.

Pike County, Indiana Courthouse Records

Pike County, Indiana Courthouse
Pike County, IN Courthouse

The Pike County Courthouse is located in Petersburg, Indiana. Learn More About State of Indiana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Pike county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Pike County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1817, Probate Records from 1817 and Court Records from 1817. The County Clerk responsiblities include administering Court Records of all Court Cases, prepares the Court's permanent historical record, performs marriage ceremonies, process marriage applications and issue marriage licenses, processes and distributes documents for court cases, and keeps a record of all wills and matters of trust in probate proceedings.
  • Pike County Recorder has Land Records from 1817. The County Recorder maintains, preserves and Records Deeds, Mortgages, Assignments, Releases, Powers of Attorney, Real Estate Contracts, Annexations, Trustee Elections, Affidavits, Final Decrees, Surveys, Federal Tax Liens, Mechanics Liens, Military Discharges, Articles of Incorporation, Cemetery Deeds, Bonds, Plats, Condominiums, Firms Doing Business Under Assumed Names, Delinquent Sewer Liens, and Miscellaneous Instruments.
  • Pike County Treasurer's Office is responsible for collecting taxes. The treasurer also receives distributions of local income and other taxes that are collected by the state such as real estate tax, personal property tax, mobile home tax, state assessed tax, and the following miscellaneous taxes: auto excise tax, inheritance tax, and innkeeper's tax.
  • Pike County Department of Health has Birth & Death Records from 1882. The County Department of Health maintains and provides Certified Birth and Death Records.

Pike County, Indiana Census Records

Pike County, Indiana Vital Records

Pike County, Indiana Resources

Pike County, Indiana External Links

Search Millions of Military Records