Johnson County, Indiana Genealogy Guide2016-06-30T21:44:36+00:00

Johnson County, Indiana Genealogy Guide

Johnson County, Indiana (Map It) was created on May 5, 1823 from Delaware New Purchase. Johnson County was named for John Johnson, first Chief Justice of the Indiana Supreme Court. Learn More About State of Indiana History

Johnson County is bordered by  Marion County (north), Shelby County (east), Bartholomew County (southeast), Brown County (southwest), Morgan County (west).

Johnson County Cities and Towns include  Bargersville, Edinburgh, Franklin, Greenwood, New Whiteland, Princes Lakes, Trafalgar, Whiteland.

Johnson County Townships include  Blue River, Clark, Franklin, Hensley, Needham, Nineveh, Pleasant, Union, White River. See Map of Johnson County Townships.

Johnson County, Indiana Courthouse Records

Johnson County, Indiana Courthouse
Johnson County, IN Courthouse

The Johnson County Courthouse is located in Franklin, Indiana. Courthouse destroyed by Fire in May 1849 and Dec. 1874, Records that survived: marriages from 1830, "complete" court records from 1823; recorder's entry book from 1822 and deeds and deed indexes from 1824. Learn More About State of Indiana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Johnson county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Johnson County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1830, Probate Records from 1821 and Court Records from 1823. The County Clerk responsiblities include administering Court Records of all Court Cases, prepares the Court's permanent historical record, performs marriage ceremonies, process marriage applications and issue marriage licenses, processes and distributes documents for court cases, and keeps a record of all wills and matters of trust in probate proceedings.
  • Johnson County Recorder has Land Records from 1825. The County Recorder maintains, preserves and Records Deeds, Mortgages, Assignments, Releases, Powers of Attorney, Real Estate Contracts, Annexations, Trustee Elections, Affidavits, Final Decrees, Surveys, Federal Tax Liens, Mechanics Liens, Military Discharges, Articles of Incorporation, Cemetery Deeds, Bonds, Plats, Condominiums, Firms Doing Business Under Assumed Names, Delinquent Sewer Liens, and Miscellaneous Instruments.
  • Johnson County Treasurer's Office is responsible for collecting taxes. The treasurer also receives distributions of local income and other taxes that are collected by the state such as real estate tax, personal property tax, mobile home tax, state assessed tax, and the following miscellaneous taxes: auto excise tax, inheritance tax, and innkeeper's tax.
  • Johnson County Department of Health has Birth & Death Records from 1882. The County Department of Health maintains and provides Certified Birth and Death Records.

Johnson County, Indiana Census Records

Johnson County, Indiana Vital Records

Johnson County, Indiana Resources

Johnson County, Indiana External Links

Search Millions of Military Records