Clinton County, Indiana Genealogy Guide2016-06-30T21:16:28+00:00

Clinton County, Indiana Genealogy Guide

Clinton County, Indiana (Map It) was created on March 1, 1830 from Adams New Purchase and Wabash New Purchase. This county was named for DeWitt Clinton, Governor of New York. Learn More About State of Indiana History

Clinton County is bordered by  Carroll County (north), Howard County (northeast), Tipton County (east), Hamilton County (southeast), Boone County (south), Montgomery County (southwest), Tippecanoe County (west)..

Clinton County Cities and Towns include  Colfax, Frankfort, Kirklin, Michigantown, Mulberry, Rossville.

Clinton County Townships include  Center, Forest, Jackson, Johnson, Kirklin, Madison, Michigan, Owen, Perry, Ross, Sugar Creek, Union, Warren, Washington. See Map of Clinton County Townships.

Clinton County, Indiana Courthouse Records

Clinton County, Indiana Courthouse
Clinton County, IN Courthouse

The Clinton County Courthouse is located in Frankfort, Indiana. Learn More About State of Indiana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Clinton county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Clinton County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1830, Probate Records from 1830 and Court Records from 1829. The County Clerk responsiblities include administering Court Records of all Court Cases, prepares the Court's permanent historical record, performs marriage ceremonies, process marriage applications and issue marriage licenses, processes and distributes documents for court cases, and keeps a record of all wills and matters of trust in probate proceedings.
  • Clinton County Recorder has Land Records from 1832. The County Recorder maintains, preserves and Records Deeds, Mortgages, Assignments, Releases, Powers of Attorney, Real Estate Contracts, Annexations, Trustee Elections, Affidavits, Final Decrees, Surveys, Federal Tax Liens, Mechanics Liens, Military Discharges, Articles of Incorporation, Cemetery Deeds, Bonds, Plats, Condominiums, Firms Doing Business Under Assumed Names, Delinquent Sewer Liens, and Miscellaneous Instruments.
  • Clinton County Treasurer's Office is responsible for collecting taxes. The treasurer also receives distributions of local income and other taxes that are collected by the state such as real estate tax, personal property tax, mobile home tax, state assessed tax, and the following miscellaneous taxes: auto excise tax, inheritance tax, and innkeeper's tax.
  • Clinton County Department of Health has Birth & Death Records from 1882. The County Department of Health maintains and provides Certified Birth and Death Records.

Clinton County, Indiana Census Records

Clinton County, Indiana Vital Records

Clinton County, Indiana Resources

Clinton County, Indiana External Links

Search Millions of Military Records