Clark County, Indiana Genealogy Guide2016-06-30T21:16:51+00:00

Clark County, Indiana Genealogy Guide

Clark County, Indiana (Map It) was created on February 3, 1801 from Knox County. This county was named for General George Rogers ClarkAmerican Revolutionary War hero. Learn More About State of Indiana History

Clark County is bordered by  Scott County (north), Jefferson County (northeast), White County (west), Floyd County (southwest), Miami County (east), Washington County (northwest), Oldam County, Kentucky (southeast), Jefferson County, Kentucky (south), Trimble County, Kentucky (southeast.

Clark County Cities and Towns include  Borden, Charlestown, Clarksville, Jeffersonville, Sellersburg, Utica.

Clark County Townships include  Bethlehem, Carr, Charlestown, Monroe, Oregon, Owen, Silver Creek, Union, Utica, Washington, Wood. See Map of Clark County Townships.

Clark County, Indiana Courthouse Records

Clark County, Indiana Courthouse
Clark County, IN Courthouse

The Clark County Courthouse is located in Jeffersonville, Indiana. Learn More About State of Indiana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Clark county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Clark County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1807, Probate Records from 1801 and Court Records from 1801. The County Clerk responsiblities include administering Court Records of all Court Cases, prepares the Court's permanent historical record, performs marriage ceremonies, process marriage applications and issue marriage licenses, processes and distributes documents for court cases, and keeps a record of all wills and matters of trust in probate proceedings.
  • Clark County Recorder has Land Records from 1801. The County Recorder maintains, preserves and Records Deeds, Mortgages, Assignments, Releases, Powers of Attorney, Real Estate Contracts, Annexations, Trustee Elections, Affidavits, Final Decrees, Surveys, Federal Tax Liens, Mechanics Liens, Military Discharges, Articles of Incorporation, Cemetery Deeds, Bonds, Plats, Condominiums, Firms Doing Business Under Assumed Names, Delinquent Sewer Liens, and Miscellaneous Instruments.
  • Clark County Treasurer's Office is responsible for collecting taxes. The treasurer also receives distributions of local income and other taxes that are collected by the state such as real estate tax, personal property tax, mobile home tax, state assessed tax, and the following miscellaneous taxes: auto excise tax, inheritance tax, and innkeeper's tax.
  • Clark County Department of Health has Birth & Death Records from 1882. The County Department of Health maintains and provides Certified Birth and Death Records.

Clark County, Indiana Census Records

Clark County, Indiana Vital Records

Clark County, Indiana Resources

Clark County, Indiana External Links

Search Millions of Military Records