Bingham County, Idaho Genealogy Guide2016-07-01T22:13:18+00:00

Bingham County, Idaho Genealogy Guide

Bingham County, Idaho (Map It) was created on January 13, 1885 from Oneida County. Bingham County was named in honor of Henry H. Bingham (1841-1912), a general in the American Civil War and a U.S. Congressman from Pennsylvania. Learn More About State of Idaho History

Bingham County is bordered by Jefferson County (north), Bonneville County (east), Caribou County, Bannock County (south), Power County (southwest), Blaine County (west), Butte County (northwest).

Bingham County Cities and Towns include Aberdeen, Atomic City, Basalt, Blackfoot, Firth, Shelley.

Bingham County, Idaho Courthouse Records

Bingham County, Idaho Courthouse
Bingham County, ID Courthouse

The Bingham County Courthouse is located in Blackfoot, Idaho. Learn More About State of Idaho Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Bingham county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Bingham County Clerk, Auditor, Recorders Office has Marriage Records from 1865, Land Records from 1865, Probate Records from 1865 and Court Records from 1866 . The Recorder is responsible to keep records of all documents recorded in Adams County. Additionally, the Recorder’s office provides marriage licenses, processes passports and records land documents, including plat maps, surveys, easements, assertions of right-of-way, and some types of liens.

Bingham County, Idaho Census Records

  • Learn More: State of Idaho Census Records
  • U.S. Federal Population Schedules: 1890 (fragmented), 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, 1940
  • U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Agriculture Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Industry Schedules: None
  • Union Veterans Schedules: 1890

Bingham County, Idaho Vital Records

Bingham County, Idaho Resources

Bingham County, Idaho External Links

Search Millions of Military Records