La Crosse County, Wisconsin Genealogy Guide2016-05-12T13:07:18+00:00

La Crosse County, Wisconsin Genealogy Guide

La Crosse County, Wisconsin (Map It) was created on March 1, 1851 from Crawford County. The county was named for the Native American game of lacrosse.Learn More About State of Wisconsin History

La Crosse County is bordered by Trempealeau County (northwest), Jackson County (northeast), Monroe County (east), Vernon County (south), Houston County, Minnesota (southwest), Winona County, Minnesota (west).

La Crosse County Cities, Towns and Villiages include La Crosse, Onalaska, Bangor, Barre, Burns, Campbell, Farmington, Greenfield, Hamilton, Holland, Medary, Onalaska, Shelby, Washington, Bangor, Holmen, Rockland, West Salem.

A Map of La Crosse County, Wisconsin contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

La Crosse County, Wisconsin Courthouse Records

La Crosse County, WI Courthouse

The La Crosse County Courthouse is located in La Crosse, Wisconsin. Learn More About State of Wisconsin Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

It has been estimated that less than 50 percent of the vital records, for example, were prepared and submitted for permanent filing prior to 1907. Land deeds, probate, and court records generally begin in Wisconsin with the organization of the county. Prior to that date, check the County or Counties it was created from. Some counties formed from other counties transcribed their portion of property deeds to be kept with the new county deed records.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in La Crosse county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • La Crosse County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1866, Marriage Records from 1851, Death Records from 1876 and Land Records from 1851. The purpose of the Register of Deeds is to provide official record keeping for Records or files land record documents authorized by law, such as deeds, mortgages, satisfactions, certified survey maps, plats and Federal Tax liens. Files and indexes Birth, Death and Marriage records, Military Discharges, and issues certified copies upon request.
  • La Crosse County Register in Probate Office has Probate Records from 1851. The Probate Office has the responsibility to maintain and update files regarding probate of estates, guardianships, protective placements, adoptions and mental commitments. This is a statutory office with the position of Register in Probate filled by judicial appointment.
  • La Crosse County Clerk of Court Office has Court Records from 1850. The Clerk of Court Office is required to maintain a record of all documents filed with the courts, keep a record of all court proceedings, and collect various fines and forfeitures ordered by the court and specified by statute.
  • La Crosse County Treasurers Office collects all real estate taxes including postponed and delinquent, all county revenues in addition to the research and issue tax deed applications. Our department is the holder of tax records and assessed values.

La Crosse County, Wisconsin Census Records

La Crosse County, Wisconsin Vital Records

La Crosse County, Wisconsin Resources

La Crosse County, Wisconsin External Links

Search Millions of Military Records