Columbia County, Oregon Genealogy Guide2016-06-07T13:49:57+00:00

Columbia County, Oregon Genealogy Guide

Columbia County, Oregon (Map It) was created on January 16, 1854 from Washington County. The county was named for the Columbia River, which forms the county's eastern and northern borders . Learn More About State of Oregon History.

Columbia County is bordered by Clatsop County (west), Washington County (south), Multnomah County (southeast), Clark County, Washington (east), Cowlitz County, Washington (northeast), Wahkiakum County, Washington (northwest).

Columbia County Cities and Towns include Clatskanie, Columbia City, Prescott, Rainier, St. Helens, Scappoose, Vernonia. A Map of Columbia County, Oregon contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Columbia County, Oregon Courthouse Records

Columbia County, Oregon Courthouse
Columbia County, OR Courthouse

The Columbia County Courthouse is located in Saint Helens, Oregon. Learn More About State of Oregon Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Columbia county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Columbia County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1854 and Land Records from 1850. The County Clerk has many duties which include vital statistics (births, deaths, marriage) and keeps a permanent public record of real estate transactions.
  • Columbia County Circuit Court Clerk has Court Records from 1850 and Probate Records from 1854. The County Circuit Court Clerk has general jurisdiction over all civil and criminal cases, and typically handle cases beyond the jurisdiction of other courts. Circuit Courts also handle divorce, child custody, disputes over title to land, probate matters, juvenile cases, guardianship, adoption, involuntary commitment, and requests for injunctions.
  • Columbia County Records Inventory The Oregon Historical County Records Guide includes descriptions and listings for each type of record in the inventory. Each series description includes a title and a description of how the records are used (function); types of records that may be included in each category (physical content); type of information that may be found (informational content)

Columbia County, Oregon Census Records

Columbia County, Oregon Vital Records

Columbia County, Oregon Resources

Columbia County, Oregon External Links

Search Millions of Military Records