Pembina County, North Dakota Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T18:11:45+00:00

Pembina County, North Dakota Genealogy Guide

Pembina County, North Dakota (Map It) was created on January 09, 1867 from Indian lands. The county was named for the high-bush cranberries which grew wild in the area. Pembina may befrom an Ojibwa phrase, anepeminan sipi, referring to the berries, as they grew in abundance around the Redberry River; it may also be from an Ojibwa word meaning meeting place. The name originally applied to the old Pembina Territory. Learn More About State of North Dakota History.

Pembina County is bordered by Manitoba, Canada (north), Kittson County, Minnesota (east), Walsh County (south), Cavalier County (west).

Pembina County Cities and Towns include Bathgate, Canton City, Cavalier, Crystal, Drayton, Hamilton, Mountain, Neche, Pembina, St. Thomas, Walhalla.

Pembina County Townships include Advance, Akra, Bathgate, Beaulieu, Carlisle, Cavalier, Concrete, Crystal, Drayton, Elora, Felson, Gardar, Hamilton, Joliette, La Moure, Lincoln, Lodema, Midland, Neche, Park, Pembina, St. Joseph, St. Thomas, Thingvalla, Walhalla. A Map of Pembina County, North Dakota contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Pembina County, North Dakota Courthouse Records

Pembina County, North Dakota Courthouse
Pembina County, ND Courthouse

The Pembina County Courthouse is located in Cavalier, North Dakota. Learn More About State of North Dakota Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Pembina county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Some records have been transferred to the State Archives and Historical Research Library.

  • Pembina County Register of Deeds / Recorder / Clerk of Courts has Marriage Records from 1872, Land Records from 1867, Probate Records from 1867 and Court Records from 1867. The County Register of Deeds / Recorder keeps a record of each patent, deed, mortgage, bill of sale and any document related to these transactions, insuring a permanent record of property ownership; Copies of divorce records. The County Clerk of Courts responsibilities include issuing Marriage Licenses and filing of Civil, Probate, Small Claims, Criminal Cases and Child Support Court Documents.

Pembina County, North Dakota Census Records

Pembina County, North Dakota Vital Records

Pembina County, North Dakota Resources

Pembina County, North Dakota External Links

Search Millions of Military Records