Jackson County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T19:05:06+00:00

Jackson County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Jackson County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on January 29, 1851 from Haywood County and Macon County. This county was named for Andrew Jackson (1767–1845), the 7th President of the United States . Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Jackson County is bordered by Haywood County (northeast), Transylvania County (east), Oconee County, South Carolina (south), Macon County (west), Swain County (northwest).

Jackson County Cities and Towns include Balsam, Cashiers, Cullowhee, Dillsboro, ForestHills, Glenville, Highlands, Savannah, Sylva, Webster. A Map of Jackson County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Jackson County Townships include Barker's Creek, Canada, Caney Fork, Cashiers, Cullowhee, Dillsboro, Greens Creek, Hamburg, Mountain, Qualla, River, Savannah, Scotts Creek, Sylva, and Webster. View a Map of Jackson County Townships.

Jackson County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Jackson County, North Carolina Courthouse
Jackson County, NC Courthouse

Old Jackson County Courthouse

The Jackson County Courthouse is located in Sylva, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Jackson county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Jackson County Records in the North Carolina State Archives. Some County Courthouse records lost when county seat moved in 1913

  • Jackson County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from ?, Marriage Records from 1853, Death Records from ? and Land Records from 1853. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Jackson County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1853, Court Records from 1853 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Jackson County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Jackson Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Jackson County, North Carolina Census Records

Jackson County, North Carolina Vital Records

Jackson County, North Carolina Resources

Jackson County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records