Union County, New Mexico Genealogy Guide2016-06-15T18:56:42+00:00

Union County, New Mexico Genealogy Guide

Union County, New Mexico (Map It) was created on February 23, 1893 from Colfax County, Mora County and San Miguel County. The county was named for the "union" of the three counties which donated land to form the new county. Learn More About State of New Mexico History

Union County is bordered by Las Animas County, Colorado (north), Baca County, Colorado (northeast), Cimarron County, Oklahoma (east), Dallam County, Texas (east), Hartley County, Texas , Quay County (south), Harding County (south), Colfax County (west).

Union County Cities and Towns include Clayton, Des Moines, Folsom, Grenville.

Union County, New Mexico Courthouse Records

Union County, New Mexico Courthouse
Union County, NM Courthouse

The Union County Courthouse is located in Clayton, New Mexico. Learn More About State of New Mexico Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Union county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Union County Clerks office has Marriage Records from 1894, Land Records from 1894 and Probate Records from 1911. The County Clerks office has land records, including deeds, mining records, surveys, and plats; marriage records; and some probate records. Also Military discharges, liens, mortgages, powers of attorney, and miscellaneous affidavits may be found there.
  • Union County 8th District Court Clerk has many responsibilities which include courts of general jurisdiction, including probate and divorce, actions, as well as jury trials.

Union County, New Mexico Census Records

  • Learn More: State of New Mexico Census Records
  • U.S. Federal Population Schedules: 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, 1940
  • Territorial Population Schedules: None
  • U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Agriculture Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Industry Schedules: None
  • Union Veterans Schedules: None

Union County, New Mexico Vital Records

Union County, New Mexico Resources

Union County, New Mexico External Links

Search Millions of Military Records