Storey County, Nevada Genealogy Guide2016-06-17T22:10:09+00:00

Storey County, Nevada Genealogy Guide

Storey County, Nevada (Map It) was created on November 25, 1861 as an original county in the Nevada Territory.The county was named in honor of Edward Farris Storey (1829–1860), a captain killed at Pyramid Lake in the 1860 Paiute War.. Learn More About State of Nevada History

Storey County is bordered by Washoe County (southwest), Lyon County (southwest), Carson City (southwest).

Storey County Cities and Towns include Gold Hill, Virginia City. A Map of Storey County, Nevada contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Storey County, Nevada Courthouse Records

Storey County, Nevada Courthouse
Storey County, NV Courthouse

The Storey County Courthouse is located in Virginia City, Nevada. Learn More About State of Nevada Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Storey county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Storey County Recorder has Birth / Death Records from 1887 and Land Records from 1859. The County Recorder  is responsible for the recordation, scanning/microfilming, indexing and permanent storage of all Real Estate Transactions, Mining Claim Locations, Assessment work, Contracts, Leases, Judgments, Marriage Certificates, Fixture Filing Statements, Liens, Maps and all other Miscellaneous Documents. 
  • Storey County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1862. The County Clerk is responsible for the issuance of all marriage licenses in the County.
  • Storey County Clerk of District Court has Probate Records from 1886 and Court Records from 1861. The County Clerk of District Court has jurisdiction over all Regular, Civil, Criminal, Probate, and Family courts.

Storey County, Nevada Census Records

Storey County, Nevada Vital Records

Storey County, Nevada Resources

Storey County, Nevada External Links

Search Millions of Military Records