Lincoln County, Mississippi Genealogy Guide2016-06-22T17:16:54+00:00

Lincoln County, Mississippi Genealogy Guide

Lincoln County, Mississippi (Map It) was created on April 7, 1870 from Lawrence County, Copiah County, Pike County, Franklin County and Amite County. The county was named in honor of Abraham Lincoln, sixteenth U.S. President . Learn More About State of Mississippi History

Lincoln County is bordered by Copiah County (north), Lawrence County (east), Walthall County (southeast), Pike County (south), Amite County (southwest), Franklin County (west) and Jefferson County (northwest) .

Lincoln County Cities and Towns include Brookhaven.

A Map of Lincoln County, Mississippi contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Lincoln County, Mississippi Courthouse Records

Lincoln County, Mississippi Courthouse
Lincoln County, MS Courthouse

The Lincoln County Courthouse is located in Brookhaven, Mississippi. The Courthouse was destroyed by fire in 1893, no records exist before then. Learn More About State of Mississippi Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Lincoln county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Lincoln County, Mississippi online record search will return Chancery and Circuit information of record in Lincoln County.

  • Lincoln County Chancery Court Clerk has Land Records from 1894, Probate Records from 1893 and Divorce Records from see Clerk. The County Chancery Court Clerk record all documents (warranty deeds, deed of trusts, military discharges, etc) to be in Public Land Records and create and maintain indexes for the documents filed in the land records, such as sectional indexes, direct/reverse indexes, etc. Maintain the Court dockets and file all records of the Court. Record and preserve court minute books. Submit divorce and other statistics to the Mississippi Department of Vital Records.
  • Lincoln County Clerk of Circuit Court has Marriage Records from 1893 and Court Records from ?. The County Clerk of Circuit Court include Receiving and fileing all law suits, indictments, motions and other related papers in all Civil and Criminal Cases filed in the Circuit or County Courts. Keeps a record of all Judgments and Executions, Issues marriage licenses and keeps records of marriages.
  • Lincoln County Tax Assessor / Collector maintain original tax records, both real and personal.
  • Lincoln County Health Department has birth and death records from November 1, 1912. You may go to any county health department in the State of Mississippi to obtain a certificates can be issued while you wait.

Lincoln County, Mississippi Census Records

  • Learn More: State of Mississippi Census Records
  • U.S. Federal Population Schedules: 1880 (free index), 1890 (fragmented), 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, 1940
  • U.S. Census Reconstructed Records: None
  • State Population Schedules: None
  • U.S. Federal Census Slave Schedules: None
  • U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules: 1880
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Agriculture Schedules: 1880
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Industry Schedules: 1880
  • Union Veterans Schedules: 1890

Lincoln County, Mississippi Vital Records

Lincoln County, Mississippi Resources

Lincoln County, Mississippi External Links

Search Millions of Military Records