Lee County, Mississippi Genealogy Guide2016-06-22T17:16:18+00:00

Lee County, Mississippi Genealogy Guide

Lee County, Mississippi (Map It) was created on December 10, 1866 from Pontotoc County and Itawamba County. The county was named in honor of Robert E. Lee, commanding Confederate general . Learn More About State of Mississippi History

Lee County is bordered by Prentiss County (north), Itawamba County (east), Monroe County (southeast), Chickasaw County (southwest), Pontotoc County (west) and Union County (northwest).

Lee County Cities and Towns include Baldwyn , Tupelo, Verona, Guntown, Nettleton, Plantersville, Saltillo, Shannon.

A Map of Lee County, Mississippi contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Lee County, Mississippi Courthouse Records

Lee County, Mississippi Courthouse
Lee County, MS Courthouse

The Lee County Courthouse is located in Tupelo, Mississippi. The Courthouse was destroyed by fire in 1873 and 1904 Learn More About State of Mississippi Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Lee county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Lee County Chancery Court Clerk has Land Records from 1867, Probate Records from 1867 and Divorce Records from see Clerk. The County Chancery Court Clerk record all documents (warranty deeds, deed of trusts, military discharges, etc) to be in Public Land Records and create and maintain indexes for the documents filed in the land records, such as sectional indexes, direct/reverse indexes, etc. Maintain the Court dockets and file all records of the Court. Record and preserve court minute books. Submit divorce and other statistics to the Mississippi Department of Vital Records.
  • Lee County Clerk of Circuit Court has Marriage Records from 1867 and Court Records from 1867. The County Clerk of Circuit Court include Receiving and fileing all law suits, indictments, motions and other related papers in all Civil and Criminal Cases filed in the Circuit or County Courts. Keeps a record of all Judgments and Executions, Issues marriage licenses and keeps records of marriages.
  • Lee County Tax Assessor / Collector maintain original tax records, both real and personal.
  • Lee County Health Department has birth and death records from November 1, 1912. You may go to any county health department in the State of Mississippi to obtain a certificates can be issued while you wait.

Lee County, Mississippi Census Records

Lee County, Mississippi Vital Records

Lee County, Mississippi Resources

Lee County, Mississippi External Links

Search Millions of Military Records