Valley County, Montana Genealogy Guide2016-06-20T20:48:13+00:00

Valley County, Montana Genealogy Guide

Valley County, Montana (Map It) was created on February 06, 1893 from Dawson County. The county was named because much of the county lies within the valley of the Milk River. Learn More About State of Montana History

Valley County is bordered by Phillips County (west), Garfield County (south), McCone County (south), Roosevelt County (east), Daniels County (east).

Valley County Cities and Towns include Fort Peck, Nashua, Opheim, Glasgow. A Map of Valley County, Montana contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Valley County, Montana Courthouse Records

Valley County, Montana Courthouse
Valley County, MT Courthouse

The Valley County Courthouse is located in Glasgow, Montana. Learn More About State of Montana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Valley county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Valley County Clerk and Recorder has Birth / Death Records from 1907 and Land Records from 1893. The County Clerk and Recorder responsibilities include but are not limited to, recording and maintaining the majority of all the legal documents relating to real estate records, land descriptions, plats and surveys, county birth and death records and the records of the Board of County commissioners.
  • Valley County Clerk of District Court has Marriage / Divorce Records from 1893, Probate Records from 1893 and Court Records from 1893. The County Clerk of District Court is responsible for all District Court records. These records include Adoption, Civil, Criminal, Dependent Neglect, Domestic Relations, Guardianship, Juvenile, Paternity, Probate and Sanity cases. The clerk also issues, files and records all Madison County Marriage license applications and license.

Valley County, Montana Census Records

  • Learn More: State of Montana Census Records
  • U.S. Federal Population Schedules: 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, 1940
  • U.S. Indian Census Records: 1885-1940
  • State Population Schedules: None
  • U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Agriculture Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Industry Schedules: None
  • Union Veterans Schedules: None

Valley County, Montana Vital Records

Valley County, Montana Resources

Valley County, Montana External Links

Search Millions of Military Records