Cascade County, Montana Genealogy Guide2016-06-20T20:29:42+00:00

Cascade County, Montana Genealogy Guide

Cascade County, Montana (Map It) was created on September 12, 1887 from Choteau County and Meagher County. The county was named for the Great Falls of the Missouri River.. Learn More About State of Montana History

Cascade County is bordered by Teton County (northeast), Choteau County (northeast), Judith Basin County (east), Meagher County (south), Lewis and Clark County (west)

Cascade County Cities and Towns include Great Falls, Belt, Cascade, Neihart. A Map of Cascade County, Montana contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Cascade County, Montana Courthouse Records

Cascade County, Montana Courthouse
Cascade County, MT Courthouse

The Cascade County Courthouse is located in Great Falls, Montana. Learn More About State of Montana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Cascade county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Cascade County Clerk and Recorder has Birth / Death Records from 1892 and Land Records from 1887. The County Clerk and Recorder responsibilities include but are not limited to, recording and maintaining the majority of all the legal documents relating to real estate records, land descriptions, plats and surveys, county birth and death records and the records of the Board of County commissioners.
  • Cascade County Clerk of District Court has Marriage / Divorce Records from 1888, Probate Records from 1887  and Court Records from 1887 . The County Clerk of District Court is responsible for all District Court records. These records include Adoption, Civil, Criminal, Dependent Neglect, Domestic Relations, Guardianship, Juvenile, Paternity, Probate and Sanity cases. The clerk also issues, files and records all Madison County Marriage license applications and license.

Cascade County, Montana Census Records

  • Learn More: State of Montana Census Records
  • U.S. Federal Population Schedules: 1890 (fragmented), 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, 1940
  • U.S. Indian Census Records: 1885-1940
  • State Population Schedules: None
  • U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Agriculture Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Industry Schedules: None
  • Union Veterans Schedules: 1890

Cascade County, Montana Vital Records

Cascade County, Montana Resources

Cascade County, Montana External Links

Search Millions of Military Records