Berkeley County, South Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-05-29T22:32:10+00:00

Berkeley County, South Carolina Genealogy Guide

Berkeley County, South Carolina (Map It) was created on January 31, 1882 from Charleston County. The county was named in honor of William Berkeley, colonial proprietary governor and landowner . Learn More About State of South Carolina History.

Berkeley County is bordered by Georgetown County (northeast), Williamsburg County (northeast), Charleston County (south), Dorchester County (west), Orangeburg County (northwest), Clarendon County (northwest).

Berkeley County Cities and Towns include Bonneau, Charleston, Cross, Goose Creek, Gumville, Hanahan, Huger, Jamestown, Ladson, Moncks Corner, North Charleston, Pinopolis, St. Stephen, Summerville, Pineville. A Map of Berkeley County, South Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Berkeley County, South Carolina Courthouse Records

Berkeley County, South Carolina Courthouse
Berkeley County, SC Courthouse

The Berkeley County Courthouse is located in Moncks Corner, South Carolina. Learn More About State of South Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Berkeley county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Berkeley County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1883. The County Register of Deeds records and maintain deeds, mortgages, plats, state and federal tax liens, mechanics liens, uniform commercial code filings, and other miscellaneous documents pertaining to real estate transactions.
  • Berkeley County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1911 and Probate Records from 1883. The County Clerk of Probate Court has original jurisdiction over actions concerning the issuance of marriage licenses, the estate of a deceased person, the will of an individual, the estate of a minor or incapacitated person, trusts, and involuntary commitments.
  • Berkeley County Clerk of Court has Court Records from 1881 and Divorce Records from since April 1949. The County Clerk of Court is divided into General Sessions and Common Pleas Court. The Circuit Court is a formal court of record.
  • Berkeley County Tax Assessor / Collector is responsible for the collection of taxes. Our office does not calculate a property’s taxable value (Assessor’s Office).
  • Berkeley County Health Department has birth and death records from 1915. Marriage records prior to 1950 are available from the Probate Court office. Divorce records since April 1949 are available from the County Clerk's office.

Berkeley County, South Carolina Census Records

  • Learn More: State of South Carolina Census Records
  • U.S. Federal Population Schedules: 1890 (fragmented), 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, 1940
  • U.S. Federal Census Slave Schedules: None
  • U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Agriculture Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Industry Schedules: None
  • Union Veterans Schedules: 1890

Berkeley County, South Carolina Vital Records

Berkeley County, South Carolina Resources

Berkeley County, South Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records