Hidalgo County, New Mexico Genealogy Guide2016-06-15T18:50:15+00:00

Hidalgo County, New Mexico Genealogy Guide

Hidalgo County, New Mexico (Map It) was created on February 25, 1919 from Grant County. The county was named in honor of Miguel Hidalgoy Costilla, the priest who is known as the Father of Mexican Independence. Learn More About State of New Mexico History

Hidalgo County is bordered by Grant County (northeast), Luna County (east), Cochise County, Arizona (west), Greenlee County, Arizona (southwest), Agua Prieta, Sonora, Mexico (southwest), Ascensión, Chihuahua, Mexico, Janos, Chihuahua, Mexico (south).

Hidalgo County Cities and Towns include Lordsburg.

Hidalgo County, New Mexico Courthouse Records

Hidalgo County, New Mexico Courthouse
Hidalgo County, NM Courthouse

The Hidalgo County Courthouse is located in Lordsburg, New Mexico. Learn More About State of New Mexico Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Hidalgo county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Hidalgo County Clerks office has Marriage Records from 1920, Land Records from 1879 and Probate Records from 1920. The County Clerks office has land records, including deeds, mining records, surveys, and plats; marriage records; and some probate records. Also Military discharges, liens, mortgages, powers of attorney, and miscellaneous affidavits may be found there.
  • Hidalgo County 6th District Court Clerk has many responsibilities which include courts of general jurisdiction, including probate and divorce, actions, as well as jury trials.

Hidalgo County, New Mexico Census Records

  • Learn More: State of New Mexico Census Records
  • U.S. Federal Population Schedules: 1920, 1930, 1940
  • Territorial Population Schedules: None
  • U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Agriculture Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Industry Schedules: None
  • Union Veterans Schedules: None

Hidalgo County, New Mexico Vital Records

Hidalgo County, New Mexico Resources

Hidalgo County, New Mexico External Links

Search Millions of Military Records