Grant County, New Mexico Genealogy Guide2016-06-15T18:49:15+00:00

Grant County, New Mexico Genealogy Guide

Grant County, New Mexico (Map It) was created on January 30, 1868 from Doña Ana County. The county was named in honor of Ulysses Simpson Grant, the Civil War general and eighteenth president of the United States. Learn More About State of New Mexico History

Grant County is bordered by Catron County (north), Sierra County (east), Luna County (south), Hidalgo County (south), Greenlee County, Arizona (west).

Grant County Cities and Towns include Hurley, Silver City, Bayard.

Grant County, New Mexico Courthouse Records

Grant County, New Mexico Courthouse
Grant County, NM Courthouse

The Grant County Courthouse is located in Silver City, New Mexico. Learn More About State of New Mexico Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Grant county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. (Pinos Altos, 1869-72). Register of Marriages (1868-1872) available at the New Mexico State Records Center and Archives.

  • Grant County Clerks office has Marriage Records from 1868, Land Records from 1872 and Probate Records from 1887. The County Clerks office has land records, including deeds, mining records, surveys, and plats; marriage records; and some probate records. Also Military discharges, liens, mortgages, powers of attorney, and miscellaneous affidavits may be found there.
  • Grant County 6th District Court Clerk has many responsibilities which include courts of general jurisdiction, including probate and divorce, actions, as well as jury trials.

Grant County, New Mexico Census Records

Grant County, New Mexico Vital Records

Grant County, New Mexico Resources

Grant County, New Mexico External Links

Search Millions of Military Records