Lincoln County, Montana Genealogy Guide2016-06-20T20:38:39+00:00

Lincoln County, Montana Genealogy Guide

Lincoln County, Montana (Map It) was created on March 09, 1909 from Flathead County. The county was named in honor of Abraham Lincoln (1809 - 1865), the 16th President of the United States. Learn More About State of Montana History

Lincoln County is bordered by Flathead County (east), Sanders County (south), Bonner County, Idaho (west), Boundary County, Idaho (west), Regional District of East Kootenay, British Columbia (north).

Lincoln County Cities and Towns include Libby, Troy. A Map of Lincoln County, Montana contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Lincoln County, Montana Courthouse Records

Lincoln County, Montana Courthouse
Lincoln County, MT Courthouse

The Lincoln County Courthouse is located in Libby, Montana. Learn More About State of Montana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Lincoln county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Lincoln County Clerk and Recorder has Birth / Death Records from 1897 and Land Records from 1909. The County Clerk and Recorder responsibilities include but are not limited to, recording and maintaining the majority of all the legal documents relating to real estate records, land descriptions, plats and surveys, county birth and death records and the records of the Board of County commissioners.
  • Lincoln County Clerk of District Court has Marriage / Divorce Records from 1896, Probate Records from 1909  and Court Records from 1909. The County Clerk of District Court is responsible for all District Court records. These records include Adoption, Civil, Criminal, Dependent Neglect, Domestic Relations, Guardianship, Juvenile, Paternity, Probate and Sanity cases. The clerk also issues, files and records all Madison County Marriage license applications and license.

Lincoln County, Montana Census Records

  • Learn More: State of Montana Census Records
  • U.S. Federal Population Schedules: 1910, 1920, 1930, 1940
  • U.S. Indian Census Records: 1885-1940
  • State Population Schedules: None
  • U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Agriculture Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Industry Schedules: None
  • Union Veterans Schedules: None

Lincoln County, Montana Vital Records

Lincoln County, Montana Resources

Lincoln County, Montana External Links

Search Millions of Military Records