Liberty County, Montana Genealogy Guide2016-06-20T20:38:20+00:00

Liberty County, Montana Genealogy Guide

Liberty County, Montana (Map It) was created on February 11, 1920 from Chouteau County and Hill County. The county was named for the sentiment of the inhabitants when the county was formed soon after World War I. Learn More About State of Montana History

Liberty County is bordered by Toole County (west), Pondera County (southwest), Chouteau County (south), Hill County (east), Alberta, Canada (north).

Liberty County Cities and Towns include Chester. A Map of Liberty County, Montana contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Liberty County, Montana Courthouse Records

Liberty County, Montana Courthouse
Liberty County, MT Courthouse

The Liberty County Courthouse is located in Chester, Montana. Learn More About State of Montana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Liberty county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Liberty County Clerk and Recorder has Birth / Death Records from 1920 and Land Records from 1920. The County Clerk and Recorder responsibilities include but are not limited to, recording and maintaining the majority of all the legal documents relating to real estate records, land descriptions, plats and surveys, county birth and death records and the records of the Board of County commissioners.
  • Liberty County Clerk of District Court has Marriage / Divorce Records from 1920, Probate Records from 1920 and Court Records from 1920. The County Clerk of District Court is responsible for all District Court records. These records include Adoption, Civil, Criminal, Dependent Neglect, Domestic Relations, Guardianship, Juvenile, Paternity, Probate and Sanity cases. The clerk also issues, files and records all Madison County Marriage license applications and license.

Liberty County, Montana Census Records

  • Learn More: State of Montana Census Records
  • U.S. Federal Population Schedules: 1930, 1940
  • U.S. Indian Census Records: 1885-1940
  • State Population Schedules: None
  • U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Agriculture Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Industry Schedules: None
  • Union Veterans Schedules: None

Liberty County, Montana Vital Records

Liberty County, Montana Resources

Liberty County, Montana External Links

Search Millions of Military Records