Glacier County, Montana Genealogy Guide2016-06-20T20:34:23+00:00

Glacier County, Montana Genealogy Guide

Glacier County, Montana (Map It) was created on February 17, 1919 from Teton County. The county was named for the Glacier National Park, which borders the county. Learn More About State of Montana History

Glacier County is bordered by Flathead County (west), Pondera County (south), Toole County (east), Alberta, Canada (north).

Glacier County Cities and Towns include Cut Bank, Browning. A Map of Glacier County, Montana contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Glacier County, Montana Courthouse Records

Glacier County, Montana Courthouse
Glacier County, MT Courthouse

The Glacier County Courthouse is located in Cut Bank, Montana. Learn More About State of Montana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Glacier county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Glacier County Clerk and Recorder has Birth / Death Records from 1919 and Land Records from 1919. The County Clerk and Recorder responsibilities include but are not limited to, recording and maintaining the majority of all the legal documents relating to real estate records, land descriptions, plats and surveys, county birth and death records and the records of the Board of County commissioners.
  • Glacier County Clerk of District Court has Marriage / Divorce Records from 1910, Probate Records from 1919 and Court Records from 1919 . The County Clerk of District Court is responsible for all District Court records. These records include Adoption, Civil, Criminal, Dependent Neglect, Domestic Relations, Guardianship, Juvenile, Paternity, Probate and Sanity cases. The clerk also issues, files and records all Madison County Marriage license applications and license.

Glacier County, Montana Census Records

  • Learn More: State of Montana Census Records
  • U.S. Federal Population Schedules: 1920, 1930, 1940
  • U.S. Indian Census Records: 1885-1940
  • State Population Schedules: None
  • U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Agriculture Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Industry Schedules: None
  • Union Veterans Schedules: None

Glacier County, Montana Vital Records

Glacier County, Montana Resources

Glacier County, Montana External Links

Search Millions of Military Records