Turner County, Georgia Genealogy Guide2016-07-03T17:43:46+00:00

Turner County, Georgia Genealogy Guide

Turner County, Georgia (Map It) was created on August 18, 1905 from Dooly County, Irwin County, Wilcox County and Worth County. Turner County was named in honor of Captain Henry Gray Turner (1839 - 1904), a U.S. Congressman and a hero of the War between the States. Learn More About State of Georgia History.

Turner County is bordered by  Wilcox County ( northeast), Ben Hill County (east), Irwin County (southwest), Tift County (southwest), Worth County (southwest), Crisp County (northwest)

A Map of Turner County, Georgia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Turner County, Georgia Courthouse Records

Turner County, Georgia Courthouse
Turner County, GA Courthouse

The Turner County Courthouse is located in Ashburn, Georgia. Learn More About State of Georgia Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Turner county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • History of Baker County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Turner County Clerk of Superior Court has Land Records from 1906 and Court Records from 1906. The County Clerk of Superior Court has jurisdiction over cases for title to land and equity, felony cases, adoptions, divorces, child support and custody enforcement. The clerk also is tasked with recording deeds and maintaining the chain of title to all property in the county.
  • Turner County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1906 and Probate Records from 1906.The County Clerk of Probate Court responsibilities include legal proceedings forh Wills, Estates, Guardianships of minor children, Involuntary Committals Hearings, Issuance of Marriage License, ect.. The county probate judge's office is the office where the most valuable genealogical records are created and maintained in the state of Georgia.
  • Turner County Tax Digests are records scanned from microfilm in the Georgia Archives.
  • Turner County Health Department can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait. Contact the Clerk of Superior Court for Divorce Records and the Probate Judge for Marriage Records.

Turner County, Georgia Census Records

  • Learn More: State of Georgia Census Records
  • U.S. Federal Population Schedules: 1930, 1940
  • U.S. Census Reconstructed Records: None
  • State Population Schedules: None
  • U.S. Federal Census Slave Schedules: None
  • U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Agriculture Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Industry Schedules: None
  • Union Veterans Schedules: None

Turner County, Georgia Vital Records

Turner County, Georgia Resources

Turner County, Georgia External Links

Search Millions of Military Records