Pickens County, Georgia Genealogy Guide2016-07-03T15:07:30+00:00

Pickens County, Georgia Genealogy Guide

Pickens County, Georgia (Map It) was created on December 5, 1853 from Cherokee County and Gilmer County . Portions of the county were transferred to Dawson County (1857), Gordon County (1860), and Cherokee County (1870). Pickens County was named in honor of General Andrew Pickens (1739 - 1817), a hero of the Revolutionary War and U.S. Congressman. Learn More About State of Georgia History.

Pickens County is bordered by  Gilmer County (north), Dawson County (east), Cherokee County (south), Bartow County (southwest), Gordon County (west)

A Map of Pickens County, Georgia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Pickens County, Georgia Courthouse Records

Pickens County, Georgia Courthouse
Pickens County, GA Courthouse

The Pickens County Courthouse is located in Jasper, Georgia. Learn More About State of Georgia Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Pickens county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • History of Baker County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Pickens County Clerk of Superior Court has Land Records from 1854 and Court Records from 1854. The County Clerk of Superior Court has jurisdiction over cases for title to land and equity, felony cases, adoptions, divorces, child support and custody enforcement. The clerk also is tasked with recording deeds and maintaining the chain of title to all property in the county.
  • Pickens County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1854 and Probate Records from 1854.The County Clerk of Probate Court responsibilities include legal proceedings forh Wills, Estates, Guardianships of minor children, Involuntary Committals Hearings, Issuance of Marriage License, ect.. The county probate judge's office is the office where the most valuable genealogical records are created and maintained in the state of Georgia.
  • Pickens County Tax Digests are records scanned from microfilm in the Georgia Archives.
  • Pickens County Health Department can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait. Contact the Clerk of Superior Court for Divorce Records and the Probate Judge for Marriage Records.

Pickens County, Georgia Census Records

Pickens County, Georgia Vital Records

Pickens County, Georgia Resources

Pickens County, Georgia External Links

Search Millions of Military Records