Hart County, Georgia Genealogy Guide2016-07-03T14:42:31+00:00

Hart County, Georgia Genealogy Guide

Hart County, Georgia (Map It) was created on December 7, 1853 from Elbert County and Franklin County. Hart County was named in honor of Nancy Morgan Hart (1735 - 1830), a heroine of the Revolutionary War. Learn More About State of Georgia History.

Hart County is bordered by  Oconee County, South Carolina (north), Anderson County, South Carolina (northeast), Elbert County (south), Madison County (southwest), Franklin County (west).

A Map of Hart County, Georgia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Hart County, Georgia Courthouse Records

Hart County, Georgia Courthouse
Hart County, GA Courthouse

The Hart County Courthouse is located in Hartwell, Georgia. The Courthouse was destroyed by fire in 1900. A new courthouse was built in 1902 and served until it burned in 1967. Learn More About State of Georgia Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Hart county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • History of Baker County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Hart County Clerk of Superior Court has Land Records from 1856 and Court Records from 1854. The County Clerk of Superior Court has jurisdiction over cases for title to land and equity, felony cases, adoptions, divorces, child support and custody enforcement. The clerk also is tasked with recording deeds and maintaining the chain of title to all property in the county.
  • Hart County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1854 and Probate Records from 1854.The County Clerk of Probate Court responsibilities include legal proceedings forh Wills, Estates, Guardianships of minor children, Involuntary Committals Hearings, Issuance of Marriage License, ect.. The county probate judge's office is the office where the most valuable genealogical records are created and maintained in the state of Georgia.
  • Hart County Tax Digests are records scanned from microfilm in the Georgia Archives.
  • Hart County Tax Assessors
  • The Hart County Health Department can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait. Contact the Clerk of Superior Court for Divorce Records and the Probate Judge for Marriage Records.

Hart County, Georgia Census Records

Hart County, Georgia Vital Records

Hart County, Georgia Resources

Hart County, Georgia External Links

Search Millions of Military Records