Franklin County, Georgia Genealogy Guide2016-07-03T14:37:51+00:00

Franklin County, Georgia Genealogy Guide

Franklin County, Georgia (Map It) was created on February 25, 1784 from Cherokee and Creek Cessions of 1783. Portions of Franklin County were used to help create the following counties: Madison County (1811), Hart County (1853), Banks County (1858), and Stephens County (1905). Franklin County was named in honor of Benjamin Franklin (1706-1790), writer, inventor, publisher, and a Founding Father of the United States. Learn More About State of Georgia History.

Franklin County is bordered by  Stephens County (north), Oconee County, South Carolina (north), Hart County (east), Madison County (south), Banks County (west).

A Map of Franklin County, Georgia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Franklin County, Georgia Courthouse Records

Franklin County, Georgia Courthouse
Franklin County, GA Courthouse

The Franklin County Courthouse is located in Carnesville, Georgia. Learn More About State of Georgia Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Franklin county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • History of Baker County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Franklin County Clerk of Superior Court has Land Records from 1786 and Court Records from 1798. The County Clerk of Superior Court has jurisdiction over cases for title to land and equity, felony cases, adoptions, divorces, child support and custody enforcement. The clerk also is tasked with recording deeds and maintaining the chain of title to all property in the county. Be aware that Lands were given to Georgia citizens by lotteries for the years 1805, 1807, 1820, 1821, 1827, 1832, 1832 (Gold), 1833.
  • Franklin County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1806 and Probate Records from 1786.The County Clerk of Probate Court responsibilities include legal proceedings forh Wills, Estates, Guardianships of minor children, Involuntary Committals Hearings, Issuance of Marriage License, ect.. The county probate judge's office is the office where the most valuable genealogical records are created and maintained in the state of Georgia.
  • Franklin County Tax Digests are records scanned from microfilm in the Georgia Archives.
  • Franklin County Health Department can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait. Contact the Clerk of Superior Court for Divorce Records and the Probate Judge for Marriage Records.

Franklin County, Georgia Census Records

Franklin County, Georgia Vital Records

Franklin County, Georgia Resources

Franklin County, Georgia External Links

Search Millions of Military Records