Effingham County, Georgia Genealogy Guide2016-07-03T14:34:58+00:00

Effingham County, Georgia Genealogy Guide

Effingham County, Georgia (Map It) was created on February 5, 1777 from St Mathew and St Philip Parishes.. Portions of Effingham County was used to create Screven County (1793) and Burke County (1793). Land from Effingham County also was used to enlarge Bryan County (1794) and Chatham County (1850) . Effingham County was named in honor of Thomas Howard, the Third Earl of Effingham (1746-1791), who was sympathetic with the independence movement. Learn More About State of Georgia History.

Effingham County is bordered by  Hampton County, South Carolina (north), Jasper County, South Carolina (northeast), Chatham County (south), Bryan County (south), Bulloch County (west), Screven County (northwest).

A Map of Effingham County, Georgia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Effingham County, Georgia Courthouse Records

Effingham County, Georgia Courthouse
Effingham County, GA Courthouse

The Effingham County Courthouse is located in Springfield, Georgia. Learn More About State of Georgia Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Effingham county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • History of Baker County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Effingham County Clerk of Superior Court has Land Records from 1786 and Court Records from 1791. The County Clerk of Superior Court has jurisdiction over cases for title to land and equity, felony cases, adoptions, divorces, child support and custody enforcement. The clerk also is tasked with recording deeds and maintaining the chain of title to all property in the county. Be aware that Lands were given to Georgia citizens by lotteries for the years 1805, 1807, 1820, 1821, 1827, 1832, 1832 (Gold), 1833.
  • Effingham County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1791 and Probate Records from 1796.The County Clerk of Probate Court responsibilities include legal proceedings forh Wills, Estates, Guardianships of minor children, Involuntary Committals Hearings, Issuance of Marriage License, ect.. The county probate judge's office is the office where the most valuable genealogical records are created and maintained in the state of Georgia.
  • Effingham County Tax Digests are records scanned from microfilm in the Georgia Archives.
  • Effingham County Health Department can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait. Contact the Clerk of Superior Court for Divorce Records and the Probate Judge for Marriage Records.

Effingham County, Georgia Census Records

Effingham County, Georgia Vital Records

Effingham County, Georgia Resources

Effingham County, Georgia External Links

Search Millions of Military Records