Cobb County, Georgia Genealogy Guide2016-07-03T13:51:02+00:00

Cobb County, Georgia Genealogy Guide

Cobb County, Georgia (Map It) was created on December 2, 1832 from Cherokee County. Cobb County was named in honor of Colonel Thomas Willis Cobb (1784 - 1835), a hero of the War of 1812 and a U.S. Congressman. Learn More About State of Georgia History.

Cobb County is bordered by  Cherokee County (north), Fulton County (east), southeast, Douglas County (originally part of Campbell) (southwest), Paulding County (west), Bartow County (originally named Cass) (northwest).

A Map of Cobb County, Georgia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Cobb County, Georgia Courthouse Records

Cobb County, Georgia Courthouse
Cobb County, GA Courthouse

The Cobb County Courthouse is located in Marietta, Georgia. The County Courthouse was destroyed by Shermans troops in 1865 destroying all records. Learn More About State of Georgia Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Cobb county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • History of Baker County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Cobb County Clerk of Superior Court has Land Records from 1865 and Court Records from 1865. The County Clerk of Superior Court has jurisdiction over cases for title to land and equity, felony cases, adoptions, divorces, child support and custody enforcement. The clerk also is tasked with recording deeds and maintaining the chain of title to all property in the county. Be aware that Lands were given to Georgia citizens by lotteries for the years 1832, 1832 (Gold), 1833.
  • Cobb County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1865 and Probate Records from 1865.The County Clerk of Probate Court responsibilities include legal proceedings forh Wills, Estates, Guardianships of minor children, Involuntary Committals Hearings, Issuance of Marriage License, ect.. The county probate judge's office is the office where the most valuable genealogical records are created and maintained in the state of Georgia.
  • Cobb County Tax Digests are records scanned from microfilm in the Georgia Archives.
  • Cobb County Health Department can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait. Contact the Clerk of Superior Court for Divorce Records and the Probate Judge for Marriage Records.

Cobb County, Georgia Census Records

Cobb County, Georgia Vital Records

Cobb County, Georgia Resources

Cobb County, Georgia External Links

Search Millions of Military Records