Barrow County, Georgia Genealogy Guide2016-07-03T13:33:03+00:00

Barrow County, Georgia Genealogy Guide

Barrow County, Georgia (Map It) was created on July 7, 1914 from Jackson County, Walton County and Gwinnett County. Barrow County was named in honor of "Uncle Dave" David Crenshaw Barrow Jr. (1852 - 1929), the chancellor of the University of Georgia (1906 - 29). Learn More About State of Georgia History.

Barrow County is bordered by  Hall County (north), Clarke County (east), Jackson County (east), Oconee County, Walton County (south), Gwinnett County (west).

A Map of Barrow County, Georgia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Barrow County, Georgia Courthouse Records

Barrow County, Georgia Courthouse
Barrow County, GA Courthouse

The Barrow County Courthouse is located in Winder, Georgia. Learn More About State of Georgia Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Barrow county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • History of Baker County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Barrow County Clerk of Superior Court has Land Records from 1915 and Court Records from 1915. The County Clerk of Superior Court has jurisdiction over cases for title to land and equity, felony cases, adoptions, divorces, child support and custody enforcement. The clerk also is tasked with recording deeds and maintaining the chain of title to all property in the county.
  • Barrow County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1915 and Probate Records from 1915.The County Clerk of Probate Court responsibilities include legal proceedings forh Wills, Estates, Guardianships of minor children, Involuntary Committals Hearings, Issuance of Marriage License, ect.. The county probate judge's office is the office where the most valuable genealogical records are created and maintained in the state of Georgia.
  • Barrow County Tax Digests are records scanned from microfilm in the Georgia Archives.
  • Barrow County Health Department can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait. Contact the Clerk of Superior Court for Divorce Records and the Probate Judge for Marriage Records.

Barrow County, Georgia Census Records

  • Learn More: State of Georgia Census Records
  • U.S. Federal Population Schedules: 1920, 1930, 1940
  • U.S. Census Reconstructed Records: None
  • State Population Schedules: None
  • U.S. Federal Census Slave Schedules: None
  • U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Agriculture Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Industry Schedules: None
  • Union Veterans Schedules: None

Barrow County, Georgia Vital Records

Barrow County, Georgia Resources

Barrow County, Georgia External Links

Search Millions of Military Records