Tooele County, Utah Genealogy Guide2016-05-25T16:59:54+00:00

Tooele County, Utah Genealogy Guide

Tooele County, Utah (Map It) was created on March 03, 1852 as an Original county of State of Deseret. The county was named either from the Goshute Tribe Chief Tuilla or the Tules plant that grew in the marshes. Learn More About State of Utah History

Tooele County is bordered by Box Elder County (north), Weber County (northeast), Davis County (east), Salt Lake County (east) Utah County (east), Juab County (south), White Pine County, Nevada (southwest), Elko County, Nevada (west).

Tooele County Cities and Towns include Grantsville, incorporated in 1867, Ophir, Rush Valley, Stockton, Tooele, incorporated in 1853, Vernon, Wendover, incorporated in 1950. A Map of Tooele County, Utah contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Tooele County, Utah Courthouse Records

Tooele County, Utah Courthouse
Tooele County, UT Courthouse

The Tooele County Courthouse is located in Tooele, Utah. Learn More About State of Utah Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Tooele county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Tooele County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1887 and Birth / Death Records from 1898–1905. Vital Records are also available from the Tooele County Health Department or the State Archives. The County Clerk's responsibilities are to conduct Countywide elections, issue marriage licenses, issue business licenses for the unincorporated county.
  • Tooele County Recorder has Land Records from 1852. The County Recorder's duties include Record, store and retrieve land documents in the public record; Assist the public in locating real property parcels on ownership plats; Assist the public in locating records; Record Military Discharges and provide certified copies of these documents at no charge; Sell copies of documents and plats to the public.
  • Tooele County Clerk of District Court has Probate Records from 1870 and Court Records from 1870. The County Clerk of District Court duties services include Divorce, Protective Orders, Guardianship and other civil matters.

Tooele County, Utah Census Records

Tooele County, Utah Vital Records

Tooele County, Utah Resources

Tooele County, Utah External Links

Search Millions of Military Records