Bristol County, Rhode Island Genealogy Guide

Bristol County, Rhode Island (Map It) was created on February 17, 1747 from Newport County. Created from land gained from Bristol County, Massachusetts after resolution of a boundary dispute between the two colonies. The county was named for City of Bristol, England. Learn More About State of Rhode Island History

Bristol County is bordered by Bristol County, Massachusetts (east), Providence County (north), Kent County (west), Newport County (south).

Bristol County Cities and Towns include Barrington, Bristol, Warren.

Bristol County, Rhode Island Courthouse Records

Bristol County, RI Towns

The Bristol County Courthouse is located in Bristol, Rhode Island. Learn More About State of Rhode Island Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Bristol county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Barrington was established in 1653 and incorporated in 1770 from Barrington, Massachusetts. It has Land Records from 1770, Probate Records from 1770 and Court Records from 1770. Villages include , Annawomscutt, Bay Spring, Hampden Meadows, Nyatt, Rumstick Point, West Barrington. Originally created in 1717 as Barrington, Massachusetts, it was ceded to Rhode Island in 1747 as part of the town of Warren. Barrington, Rhode Island, a new town, was set off from Warren in 1770. Barrington, Massachusetts records between 1717 and 1747 are in Bristol County; 1747—70 in the Warren town clerk’s office. This office has the meeting records for the town since 1718More info.
  • Bristol was established in 1680 and incorporated in 1746 from Bristol, Massachusetts. It has Land Records from 1747, Probate Records from 1747 and Court Records from 1747. Villages include Beach Terrace, Bristol Highlands, Bristol Narrows, Castle Island, Popasquash Point, Seal Island, Walker Island. Part of Plymouth Colony, 1681—86, then Bristol Co. Mass. Ceded to Rhode Island, 1747. See Taunton, Massachusetts, for earlier records. More info.
  • Warren was established in 1620 and incorporated in 1747 from Barrington, Rehoboth and Swansea, Mass.. It has Land Records from 1747, Probate Records from 1747 and Court Records from 1747. Villages include Burr Hill, Coggeshall, East Warren, Kickamuit, South Warren, Touisset. See Bristol County, Northern District, Taunton, Massachusetts, for earlier records. More info

Bristol County, Rhode Island Census Records

Bristol County, Rhode Island Vital Records

Bristol County, Rhode Island Resources

Bristol County, Rhode Island External Links