Franklin County, Pennsylvania Records

Franklin County, Pennsylvania (Map It) was created on September 9, 1784 from Cumberland County. The county was named in honor of Benjamin Franklin, key founding father of the United States.

Franklin County is bordered by Juniata County (north), Perry County (northeast), Cumberland County (northeast), Adams County (east), Frederick County, Maryland (southeast), Washington County, Maryland (south), Fulton County (west), Huntingdon County (northwest). A Map of Franklin County, Pennsylvania contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Franklin County Townships include  Antrim, Fannett, Greene, Guilford, Hamilton, Letterkenny, Lurgan, Metal, Montgomery, Peters, Quincy, Southampton, St. Thomas, Warren, Washington.

Franklin County Boroughs include  Chambersburg, Greencastle, Mercersburg, Molto, Orrstown, Shippensburg (partial), Waynesboro. See also Franklin County Municipalities Incorporation Dates.

Franklin County, Pennsylvania Courthouse Records

Franklin County Townships Map
Franklin County Townships Map

Franklin County, PA Courthouse

The Franklin County Courthouse is located in Chambersburg, Pennsylvania. Learn More About State of Pennsylvania Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Franklin county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Franklin County, Pennsylvania Census Records

Franklin County, Pennsylvania Vital Records

Franklin County, Pennsylvania Resources

Franklin County, Pennsylvania External Links