Pontotoc County, Oklahoma Genealogy Guide2016-06-08T17:38:48+00:00

Pontotoc County, Oklahoma Genealogy Guide

Pontotoc County, Oklahoma (Map It) was created on July 16, 1907 from Chickasaw lands. The county was named in honor of is a Chickasaw word meaning cat tails growing on the prairie. Learn More About State of Oklahoma History

Pontotoc County is bordered by Seminole County (north), Hughes County (northeast), Coal County (southeast), Johnston County (south), Murray County (southwest), Garvin County (west), McClain County (northwest), Pottawatomie County (northwest).

Pontotoc County Cities and Towns include Ada, Allen, Byng, Fitzhugh, Francis, Roff, Stonewall. A Map of Pontotoc County, Oklahoma contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Pontotoc County, Oklahoma Courthouse Records

Pontotoc County, Oklahoma Courthouse
Pontotoc County, OK Courthouse

The Pontotoc County Courthouse is located in Ada, Oklahoma. Learn More About State of Oklahoma Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Pontotoc county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Guide to the Historical Records of Oklahoma, indicates location of county records, including those of tax and assessments.

  • Pontotoc County Clerk's Office has Birth / Death Records from 1908 and Land Records from 1906. The County Clerk's Office is responsible for preserving all the legal instruments filed by private citizens and public officials with the County Clerk's office. The office maintains files of all real estate records, plats, judgments, liens, patents, military discharges, school records, county personnel, insurance and retirement records for employees, meeting notices, commissioners' proceedings and other documents. Although county clerks record births and deaths and provide information on request, certificates are available only from the Vital Records Section, State Department of Health.
  • Pontotoc County Court Clerk's Office has Marriage Records from 1907, Probate Records from 1906 and Land Records from 1907. The County Court Clerk's Office has the primary responsibility to record, file, and maintain permanent records of the proceedings of the District Court. We collect fines, fees, and forfeitures, and distribute the collected monies as provided by law to the appropriate agencies. There are numerous types of cases filed with the Court Clerk's Office some of which include: Civil, Small Claims, Probate, Guardianship, Adoption, Felony, Misdemeanor, Search Warrants, Licenses and more.
  • Pontotoc County Tax Assessors Office has the responsibility to appraise and assess the real and personal property within the county for the purpose of ad-valorem taxation. Also, the county assessor is required to compute the ad-valorem taxes due on all the taxable property. By law, the county assessor appraises all the taxable real property according to its fair cash value for which the property is actually being used. The county treasurer or assessor may have tax or assessment records. Some tax records are stored in museums, historical, and/or genealogical societies' repositories.

Pontotoc County, Oklahoma Census Records

Pontotoc County, Oklahoma Vital Records

Pontotoc County, Oklahoma Resources

Pontotoc County, Oklahoma External Links

Search Millions of Military Records