Cleveland County, Oklahoma Genealogy Guide2016-06-07T17:55:56+00:00

Cleveland County, Oklahoma Genealogy Guide

Cleveland County, Oklahoma (Map It) was created on May 1890 from Oklahoma Territory. The county was named Grover Cleveland (1837-1908), two-time President of the United States. Learn More About State of Oklahoma History

Cleveland County is bordered by Oklahoma County (north), Pottawatomie County (east), McClain County (south & west), Canadian County (northwest).

Cleveland County Cities and Towns include Etowah, Hall Park, Lexington, Moore, Noble, Norman, Slaughterville. A Map of Cleveland County, Oklahoma contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Cleveland County, Oklahoma Courthouse Records

Cleveland County, Oklahoma Courthouse
Cleveland County, OK Courthouse

The Cleveland County Courthouse is located in Norman, Oklahoma. Learn More About State of Oklahoma Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Cleveland county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Guide to the Historical Records of Oklahoma, indicates location of county records, including those of tax and assessments.

  • Cleveland County Clerk's Office has Birth / Death Records from 1908 and Land Records from 1890. The County Clerk's Office is responsible for preserving all the legal instruments filed by private citizens and public officials with the County Clerk's office. The office maintains files of all real estate records, plats, judgments, liens, patents, military discharges, school records, county personnel, insurance and retirement records for employees, meeting notices, commissioners' proceedings and other documents. Although county clerks record births and deaths and provide information on request, certificates are available only from the Vital Records Section, State Department of Health.
  • Cleveland County Court Clerk's Office has Marriage Records from 1867, Probate Records from 1889 and Land Records from 1891. The County Court Clerk's Office has the primary responsibility to record, file, and maintain permanent records of the proceedings of the District Court. We collect fines, fees, and forfeitures, and distribute the collected monies as provided by law to the appropriate agencies. There are numerous types of cases filed with the Court Clerk's Office some of which include: Civil, Small Claims, Probate, Guardianship, Adoption, Felony, Misdemeanor, Search Warrants, Licenses and more.
  • Cleveland County Tax Assessors Office has the responsibility to appraise and assess the real and personal property within the county for the purpose of ad-valorem taxation. Also, the county assessor is required to compute the ad-valorem taxes due on all the taxable property. By law, the county assessor appraises all the taxable real property according to its fair cash value for which the property is actually being used. The county treasurer or assessor may have tax or assessment records. Some tax records are stored in museums, historical, and/or genealogical societies' repositories.

Cleveland County, Oklahoma Census Records

Cleveland County, Oklahoma Vital Records

Cleveland County, Oklahoma Resources

Cleveland County, Oklahoma External Links

Search Millions of Military Records