Sheridan County, North Dakota Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T18:18:31+00:00

Sheridan County, North Dakota Genealogy Guide

Sheridan County, North Dakota (Map It) was created on December 24, 1908 from McLean County. The county was named in honor of American Civil War officer Philip Henry Sheridan (1831 - 1888). Learn More About State of North Dakota History.

Sheridan County is bordered by McHenry County (north), Pierce County (northeast), Wells County (east), Kidder County (south), Burleigh County (south), McLean County (west).

Sheridan County Cities and Towns include Goodrich, Martin, McClusky.

Sheridan County Townships include Berlin, Boone, Denhoff, Edgemont, Fairview, Highland, Lincoln Dale, Martin, Sperry, Mauch, Goodrich, Pickard, Prophets, Rosenfield, Strassburg, McClusky. A Map of Sheridan County, North Dakota contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Sheridan County, North Dakota Courthouse Records

Sheridan County, North Dakota Courthouse
Sheridan County, ND Courthouse

The Sheridan County Courthouse is located in McClusky, North Dakota. Learn More About State of North Dakota Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Sheridan county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Some records have been transferred to the State Archives and Historical Research Library.

  • Sheridan County Register of Deeds / Recorder has Land Records from 1909. The County Register of Deeds / Recorder keeps a record of each patent, deed, mortgage, bill of sale and any document related to these transactions, insuring a permanent record of property ownership; Copies of divorce records.
  • Sheridan County Clerk of Courts has Marriage Records from 1909, Probate Records from 1909 and Court Records from 1909. The County Clerk of Courts responsibilities include issuing Marriage Licenses and filing of Civil, Probate, Small Claims, Criminal Cases and Child Support Court Documents.

Sheridan County, North Dakota Census Records

Sheridan County, North Dakota Vital Records

Sheridan County, North Dakota Resources

Sheridan County, North Dakota External Links

Search Millions of Military Records