McKenzie County, North Dakota Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T18:09:13+00:00

McKenzie County, North Dakota Genealogy Guide

McKenzie County, North Dakota (Map It) was created on May 24, 1901 from Stark County. The county was named in honor of Alexander McKenzie, party boss known in the state as "the senator-maker". Learn More About State of North Dakota History.

McKenzie County is bordered by Williams County (north), Mountrail County (northeast), Dunn County (south), Billings County (south), Golden Valley County (southwest), Wibaux County, Montana (southwest), Richland County, Montana ( west),

McKenzie County Cities and Towns include Alexander, Arnegard, Watford City.

McKenzie County Townships include Alex, Antelope Creek, Arnegard, Blue Butte, Charbon, Elm Tree, Grail, Grassy Butte, Hawkeye, Keene, Randolph, Riverview, Sioux, Tri, Twin Valley, Yellowstone. A Map of McKenzie County, North Dakota contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

McKenzie County, North Dakota Courthouse Records

McKenzie County, North Dakota Courthouse
McKenzie County, ND Courthouse

The McKenzie County Courthouse is located in Watford City, North Dakota. Learn More About State of North Dakota Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in McKenzie county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Some records have been transferred to the State Archives and Historical Research Library. In 1901 McKenzie was re-created but remained attached to Stark until it was fully organized in 1905.

  • McKenzie County Register of Deeds / Recorder has Land Records from 1905. The County Register of Deeds / Recorder keeps a record of each patent, deed, mortgage, bill of sale and any document related to these transactions, insuring a permanent record of property ownership; Copies of divorce records.
  • McKenzie County Clerk of Courts has Marriage Records from 1906, Probate Records from 1905 and Court Records from 1905. The County Clerk of Courts responsibilities include issuing Marriage Licenses and filing of Civil, Probate, Small Claims, Criminal Cases and Child Support Court Documents.

McKenzie County, North Dakota Census Records

McKenzie County, North Dakota Vital Records

McKenzie County, North Dakota Resources

McKenzie County, North Dakota External Links

Search Millions of Military Records