McHenry County, North Dakota Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T18:08:32+00:00

McHenry County, North Dakota Genealogy Guide

McHenry County, North Dakota (Map It) was created on January 04, 1873 from Buffalo County in the Dakota Territory. The county was named in honor of James McHenry, one of the area's original settlers. Learn More About State of North Dakota History.

McHenry County is bordered by Bottineau County (north), Pierce County (east), Sheridan County, McLean County (southwest), Ward County (west), Renville County.

McHenry County Cities and Towns include Anamoose, Balfour, Bantry, Bergen, Deering, Drake, Granville, Karlsruhe, Kief, Towner, Upham, Velva, Voltaire.

McHenry County Townships include Anamoose, Balfour, Bantry, Berwick, Bjornson, Brown, Cottonwood Lake, Deep River, Deering, Denbigh, Egg Creek, Falsen, Gilmore, Granville, Grilley, Hendrickson, Karlsruhe, Kottke Valley, Lake George, Lake Hester, Land, Layton, Lebanon, Little Deep, Meadow, Mouse River, Newport, Normal, North Prairie, Norwich, Odin, Olivia, Pratt, Riga, Rose Hill, Round Lake, Saline, Schiller, Spring Grove, Strege, Velva, Verendrye, Villard, Voltaire, Wagar, Willow Creek. A Map of McHenry County, North Dakota contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

McHenry County, North Dakota Courthouse Records

McHenry County, North Dakota Courthouse
McHenry County, ND Courthouse

The McHenry County Courthouse is located in Towner, North Dakota. Learn More About State of North Dakota Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in McHenry county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Some records have been transferred to the State Archives and Historical Research Library.

  • McHenry County Register of Deeds / Recorder has Land Records from 1873. The County Register of Deeds / Recorder keeps a record of each patent, deed, mortgage, bill of sale and any document related to these transactions, insuring a permanent record of property ownership; Copies of divorce records.
  • McHenry County Clerk of Courts has Marriage Records from 1905, Probate Records from 1873 and Court Records from 1873. The County Clerk of Courts responsibilities include issuing Marriage Licenses and filing of Civil, Probate, Small Claims, Criminal Cases and Child Support Court Documents.

McHenry County, North Dakota Census Records

McHenry County, North Dakota Vital Records

McHenry County, North Dakota Resources

McHenry County, North Dakota External Links

Search Millions of Military Records