Grand Forks County, North Dakota Genealogy Guide

Grand Forks County, North Dakota (Map It) was created on January 04, 1873 from Pembina County. The county was named for Grand Forks, North Dakota, which in turn was named for its location at the intersection of the Red Lake River and the Red River of the North. Learn More About State of North Dakota History.

Grand Forks County is bordered by Walsh County (north), Polk County, Minnesota (east), Traill County (southwest), Steele County (southwest), Nelson County (west).

Grand Forks County Cities and Towns include Grand Forks, Larimore, Thompson, Northwood, Emerado, Manvel, Reynolds, Gilby, Niagara, Inkster.

Grand Forks County Townships include Agnes, Allendale, Americus, Arvilla, Avon, Bentru, Blooming, Brenna, Chester, Elkmount, Elm Grove, Fairfield, Falconer, Ferry, Gilby, Grace, Grand Forks, Hegton, Inkster, Johnstown, Lakeville, Larimore, Levant, Lind, Logan Center, Loretta, Mekinock, Michigan, Moraine, Niagara, Northwood, Oakville, Pleasant View, Plymouth, Rye, Strabane, Turtle River, Union, Walle, Washington, Wheatfield. A Map of Grand Forks County, North Dakota contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Grand Forks County, North Dakota Courthouse Records

Grand Forks County, North Dakota Courthouse
Grand Forks County, ND Courthouse

The Grand Forks County Courthouse is located in Grand Forks, North Dakota. Learn More About State of North Dakota Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Grand Forks county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Some records have been transferred to the State Archives and Historical Research Library. Coroner’s records and inquests for deaths; county judge has index to marriage certificates from 1875.

  • Grand Forks County Register of Deeds / Recorder has Land Records from 1873. The County Register of Deeds / Recorder keeps a record of each patent, deed, mortgage, bill of sale and any document related to these transactions, insuring a permanent record of property ownership; Copies of divorce records.
  • Grand Forks County Clerk of Courts has Marriage Records from 1873, Probate Records from 1873 and Court Records from 1873. The County Clerk of Courts responsibilities include issuing Marriage Licenses and filing of Civil, Probate, Small Claims, Criminal Cases and Child Support Court Documents.

Grand Forks County, North Dakota Census Records

Grand Forks County, North Dakota Vital Records

Grand Forks County, North Dakota Resources

Grand Forks County, North Dakota External Links