Emmons County, North Dakota Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T17:27:54+00:00

Emmons County, North Dakota Genealogy Guide

Emmons County, North Dakota (Map It) was created on February 10, 1879 from Burleigh County and Campbell County, South Dakota. The county was named in honor of James Emmons, an early entrepreneur and businessman who operated the first steamboat across the Missouri River in Bismarck. Learn More About State of North Dakota History.

Emmons County is bordered by Burleigh County (north), Kidder County (northeast), Logan County (east), McIntosh County (south), Campbell County, South Dakota (south), Sioux County (west), Morton County.

Emmons County Cities and Towns include Braddock, Hague, Hazelton, Linton, Strasburg.

Emmons County Townships include Campbell. A Map of Emmons County, North Dakota contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Emmons County, North Dakota Courthouse Records

Emmons County, North Dakota Courthouse
Emmons County, ND Courthouse

The Emmons County Courthouse is located in Linton, North Dakota. Learn More About State of North Dakota Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Emmons county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Some records have been transferred to the State Archives and Historical Research Library.

  • Emmons County Register of Deeds / Recorder / Clerk of Courts has Marriage Records from 1888, Land Records from 1879, Probate Records from 1879 and Court Records from 1879. The County Register of Deeds / Recorder keeps a record of each patent, deed, mortgage, bill of sale and any document related to these transactions, insuring a permanent record of property ownership; Copies of divorce records. The County Clerk of Courts responsibilities include issuing Marriage Licenses and filing of Civil, Probate, Small Claims, Criminal Cases and Child Support Court Documents.

Emmons County, North Dakota Census Records

Emmons County, North Dakota Vital Records

Emmons County, North Dakota Resources

  • Emmons County Historical Society, P. O. Box 567 | 110 W Oak Avenue, Linton, ND 58552, 701-254-4390
  • Hazelton Historical Society, 201 Western Avenue, Hazelton, ND 58544, 701-782-6293
  • Pioneer Heritage, Inc., P. O. Box 872 , Linton, ND 58552, 701-336-7103
  • South Central Threshing Association, P. O. Box 1 , Braddock, ND 58524
  • Emmons County, North Dakota Message Boards
  • Emmons County, North Dakota Genealogy Forum read and post messages with other genealogy researchers for Emmons County

Emmons County, North Dakota External Links

Search Millions of Military Records