Eddy County, North Dakota Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T17:27:35+00:00

Eddy County, North Dakota Genealogy Guide

Eddy County, North Dakota (Map It) was created on March 09, 1885 from Foster County. The county was named in honor of Ezra B. Eddy, a Fargo banker and one of the territory's wealthiest citizens. Learn More About State of North Dakota History.

Eddy County is bordered by Benson County (north), Nelson County (northeast), Griggs County (south), Foster County (south), Wells County (west).

Eddy County Cities and Towns include New Rockford, Sheyenne.

Eddy County Townships include Bush, Cherry Lake, Columbia, Colvin, Eddy, Freeborn, Secure Site, Gates, Grandfield, Hillsdale, Lake Washington, Munster, New Rockford, Paradise, Pleasant Prairie, Rosefield, Sheldon, Superior, Tiffany. A Map of Eddy County, North Dakota contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Eddy County, North Dakota Courthouse Records

Eddy County, North Dakota Courthouse
Eddy County, ND Courthouse

The Eddy County Courthouse is located in New Rockford, North Dakota. Learn More About State of North Dakota Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Eddy county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Some records have been transferred to the State Archives and Historical Research Library.

  • Eddy County Register of Deeds / Recorder / Clerk of Courts has Marriage Records from 1887, Land Records from 1885, Probate Records from 1885 and Court Records from 1885. The County Register of Deeds / Recorder keeps a record of each patent, deed, mortgage, bill of sale and any document related to these transactions, insuring a permanent record of property ownership; Copies of divorce records. The County Clerk of Courts responsibilities include issuing Marriage Licenses and filing of Civil, Probate, Small Claims, Criminal Cases and Child Support Court Documents.

Eddy County, North Dakota Census Records

Eddy County, North Dakota Vital Records

Eddy County, North Dakota Resources

Eddy County, North Dakota External Links

Search Millions of Military Records