Dunn County, North Dakota Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T17:27:15+00:00

Dunn County, North Dakota Genealogy Guide

Dunn County, North Dakota (Map It) was created on May 24, 1901 from Stark County . The county was named in honor of John P. Dunn, an early civic leader of Bismarck, who opened the first drugstore in North Dakota. Learn More About State of North Dakota History.

Dunn County is bordered by Mountrail County (north), McLean County (northeast), Mercer County (east), Stark County (south), Billings County (southwest), McKenzie County.

Dunn County Cities and Towns include Dodge, Dunn Center, Halliday, Killdeer. A Map of Dunn County, North Dakota contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Dunn County, North Dakota Courthouse Records

Dunn County, North Dakota Courthouse
Dunn County, ND Courthouse

The Dunn County Courthouse is located in Manning, North Dakota. Learn More About State of North Dakota Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Dunn county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Some records have been transferred to the State Archives and Historical Research Library.

  • Dunn County Register of Deeds / Recorder / Clerk of Courts has Marriage Records from 1908, Land Records from 1908, Probate Records from 1908 and Court Records from 1908. The County Register of Deeds / Recorder keeps a record of each patent, deed, mortgage, bill of sale and any document related to these transactions, insuring a permanent record of property ownership; Copies of divorce records. The County Clerk of Courts responsibilities include issuing Marriage Licenses and filing of Civil, Probate, Small Claims, Criminal Cases and Child Support Court Documents.

Dunn County, North Dakota Census Records

Dunn County, North Dakota Vital Records

Dunn County, North Dakota Resources

Dunn County, North Dakota External Links

Search Millions of Military Records