Dickey County, North Dakota Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T17:26:32+00:00

Dickey County, North Dakota Genealogy Guide

Dickey County, North Dakota (Map It) was created on March 05, 1881 from LaMoure County. The county was named in honor of Dakota territorial legislator George H. Dickey. Learn More About State of North Dakota History.

Dickey County is bordered by LaMoure County (north), Ransom County (northeast), Sargent County (east), Brown County, South Dakota (south), McPherson County, South Dakota (southwest), McIntosh County (west).

Dickey County Cities and Towns include Ellendale, Forbes, Fullerton, Ludden, Monango, Oakes.

Dickey County Townships include Ada, Albertha, Albion, Bear Creek, Clement, Divide, Elden, Ellendale, Elm, German, Grand Valley, Hamburg, Hudson, James River Valley, Kent, Kentner, Keystone, Lorraine, Lovell, Maple, Merricourt, Northwest, Port Emma, Porter, Potsdam, Riverdale, Spring Valley, Valley, Van Meter, Whitestone, Wright, Yorktown, Young. A Map of Dickey County, North Dakota contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Dickey County, North Dakota Courthouse Records

Dickey County, North Dakota Courthouse
Dickey County, ND Courthouse

The Dickey County Courthouse is located in Ellendale, North Dakota. Learn More About State of North Dakota Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Dickey county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Some records have been transferred to the State Archives and Historical Research Library.

  • Dickey County Register of Deeds / Recorder has Land Records from 1881. The County Register of Deeds / Recorder keeps a record of each patent, deed, mortgage, bill of sale and any document related to these transactions, insuring a permanent record of property ownership; Copies of divorce records.
  • Dickey County Clerk of Courts has Marriage Records from 1881, Probate Records from 1881 and Court Records from 1881. The County Clerk of Courts responsibilities include issuing Marriage Licenses and filing of Civil, Probate, Small Claims, Criminal Cases and Child Support Court Documents.

Dickey County, North Dakota Census Records

Dickey County, North Dakota Vital Records

Dickey County, North Dakota Resources

Dickey County, North Dakota External Links

Search Millions of Military Records