Burke County, North Dakota Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T17:25:10+00:00

Burke County, North Dakota Genealogy Guide

Burke County, North Dakota (Map It) was created on July 06, 1910 from Ward County. The county was named in honor of John Burke, tenth Governor of North Dakota. Learn More About State of North Dakota History.

Burke County is bordered by Saskatchewan, Canada (north), Renville County (east), Ward County (south), Mountrail County (south), Williams County (southwest), Divide County (west).

Burke County Cities and Towns include Bowbells, Columbus, Flaxton, Lignite, Portal, Powers Lake .

Burke County Townships include Battleview, Bowbells, Carter, Clayton, Cleary, Colville, Dale, Dimond, Fay, Foothills, Forthun, Garness, Harmonious, Kandiyohi, Keller, Lakeview, Leaf Mountain, Lucy, Minnesota, North Star, Portal, Richland, Roseland, Short Creek, Soo, Thorson, Vale, Vanville, Ward. A Map of Burke County, North Dakota contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Burke County, North Dakota Courthouse Records

Burke County, North Dakota Courthouse
Burke County, ND Courthouse

The Burke County Courthouse is located in Bowbells, North Dakota. Learn More About State of North Dakota Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Burke county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Some records have been transferred to the State Archives and Historical Research Library.

  • Burke County Register of Deeds / Recorder / Clerk of Courts has Marriage Records from 1910, Land Records from 1910, Probate Records from 1910 and Court Records from 1910. The County Register of Deeds / Recorder keeps a record of each patent, deed, mortgage, bill of sale and any document related to these transactions, insuring a permanent record of property ownership; Copies of divorce records. The County Clerk of Courts responsibilities include issuing Marriage Licenses and filing of Civil, Probate, Small Claims, Criminal Cases and Child Support Court Documents.

Burke County, North Dakota Census Records

  • Learn More: State of North Dakota Census Records
  • U.S. Federal Population Schedules: 1920, 1930, 1940
  • U.S. Indian Census Records: 1885-1940
  • Territorial and State Censuses: 1885, 1915, 1925
  • U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Agriculture Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Industry Schedules: None
  • Union Veterans Schedules: None

Burke County, North Dakota Vital Records

Burke County, North Dakota Resources

Burke County, North Dakota External Links

Search Millions of Military Records