Billings County, North Dakota Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T17:24:05+00:00

Billings County, North Dakota Genealogy Guide

Billings County, North Dakota (Map It) was created on February 10, 1879 from Dakota Territory. The county was named in honor of Frederick H. Billings (1823 - 1890), who was president of the Northern Pacific Railroad. Learn More About State of North Dakota History.

Billings County is bordered by McKenzie County (north), Dunn County (northeast), Stark County (east), Slope County (south), Golden Valley County (west).

Billings County Cities and Towns include Medora.

Billings County Townships include Medora. A Map of Billings County, North Dakota contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Billings County, North Dakota Courthouse Records

Billings County, North Dakota Courthouse
Billings County, ND Courthouse

The Billings County Courthouse is located in Medora, North Dakota. Learn More About State of North Dakota Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Billings county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Some records have been transferred to the State Archives and Historical Research Library.

  • Billings County Register of Deeds / Recorder / Clerk of Courts has Marriage Records from 1887, Land Records from 1879, Probate Records from 1879 and Court Records from 1879. The County Register of Deeds / Recorder keeps a record of each patent, deed, mortgage, bill of sale and any document related to these transactions, insuring a permanent record of property ownership; Copies of divorce records. The County Clerk of Courts responsibilities include issuing Marriage Licenses and filing of Civil, Probate, Small Claims, Criminal Cases and Child Support Court Documents.

Billings County, North Dakota Census Records

Billings County, North Dakota Vital Records

Billings County, North Dakota Resources

Billings County, North Dakota External Links

Search Millions of Military Records