Benson County, North Dakota Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T17:23:43+00:00

Benson County, North Dakota Genealogy Guide

Benson County, North Dakota (Map It) was created on March 09, 1883 from Ramsey County. The county was named in honor of Dakota territorial legislator Bertil W. Benson.

Benson County is bordered by Towner County (north), Ramsey County (northeast), Nelson County (east), Eddy County, Wells County (southwest), Pierce County (west).

Benson County Cities and Towns include Brinsmade, Esmond, Knox, Leeds, Maddock, Minnewaukan, Oberon, Warwick, York  .

Benson County Townships include Albert, Arne, Aurora, Beaver, Broe, Butte Valley, East Fork, Eldon, Esmond, Hesper, Impark, Iowa, Irvine, Isabel, Knox, Lake Ibsen, Lallie, Leeds, Lohnes, McClellan, Minco, Mission, Normania, North Viking, Oberon, Pleasant Lake, Rich Valley, Riggin, Rock, South Viking, Twin Lake, Twin Tree, Warwick, West Antelope, West Bay, Wood Lake, York. A Map of Benson County, North Dakota contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Benson County, North Dakota Courthouse Records

Benson County, North Dakota Courthouse
Benson County, ND Courthouse

The Benson County Courthouse is located in Minnewaukan, North Dakota. Learn More About State of North Dakota Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Benson county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Some records have been transferred to the State Archives and Historical Research Library.

  • Benson County Register of Deeds / Recorder has Land Records from 1883. The County Register of Deeds / Recorder keeps a record of each patent, deed, mortgage, bill of sale and any document related to these transactions, insuring a permanent record of property ownership; Copies of divorce records.
  • Benson County Clerk of Courts has Marriage Records from 1885, Probate Records from 1883 and Court Records from 1883. The County Clerk of Courts responsibilities include issuing Marriage Licenses and filing of Civil, Probate, Small Claims, Criminal Cases and Child Support Court Documents.

Benson County, North Dakota Census Records

Benson County, North Dakota Vital Records

Benson County, North Dakota Resources

Benson County, North Dakota External Links

Search Millions of Military Records