Nelson County, Kentucky Genealogy Guide2016-06-27T18:17:37+00:00

Nelson County, Kentucky Genealogy Guide

Nelson County, Kentucky (Map It) was created on November 29, 1784 from Jefferson County. The county was named in honor of Thomas Nelson, Jr. (1738–1789), signer of the Declaration of Independence . Learn More About State of Kentucky History

Nelson County is bordered by Spencer County (north), Anderson County (northeast), Washington County (east), Marion County (southeast), LaRue County (south), Hardin County (west), Bullitt County (northwest).

Nelson County Cities and Towns include Bardstown, Bloomfield, Fairfield, New Haven, New Hope.

A Map of Nelson County, Kentucky contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Nelson County, Kentucky Courthouse Records

Nelson County, Kentucky Courthouse
Nelson County, KY Courthouse

The Nelson County Courthouse is located in Bardstown, Kentucky. Learn More About State of Kentucky Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Nelson county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

Nelson County, Kentucky Census Records

Nelson County, Kentucky Vital Records

Nelson County, Kentucky Resources

Nelson County, Kentucky External Links

Search Millions of Military Records